Adrian Gonzalez

With the awards season beginning to gain steam, Clayton Kershaw has racked up quite a few honors in recent days, including winning three Players Choice Awards on Monday. Kershaw was also announced as a finalist for the NL Cy Young and MVP Awards.

Kershaw has received plenty of recognition for the year he had in 2014 and deservedly so, but he was denied another award by one of his teammates Tuesday. Zack Greinke was one of two Los Angeles Dodgers — the other being Adrian Gonzalez — to win a Gold Glove.

For Greinke, it’s his first Gold Glove and he not only beat out Kershaw, but also Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals. This marks Gonzalez’s fourth time winning the award, however his first with the Dodgers. Gonzalez also won a Fielding Bible Award, the first of his career, for his play last season.

The last Dodger first baseman to win a Gold Glove was Steve Garvey in 1977. To congratulate their two Gold Glove winners, the Dodgers put together a video that includes Gonzalez and Greinke fielding highlights:

About The Author

Matt is a journalist from Whittier, California. A Cal State Long Beach graduate, Matthew occasionally contributes to Lakers Nation, and previously served as the lead editor and digital strategist at Dodgers Nation, and the co-editor and lead writer at Reign of Troy, where he covered USC Football. You can follow Matt on Twitter @mmoreno1015

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.