While the 2013 version of the Los Angeles Dodgers weren’t the greatest defensive team in baseball, it was a little surprising to find out they had five nominations for NL Gold Glove awards.

For the first time, the Gold Glove criteria also involved sabermetrics, along with the same criteria coaches and general managers have been voting on for past years. Zack Greinke, Mark and A.J. Ellis, Juan Uribe and Adrian Gonzalez were nominated for awards with Uribe and Greinke having the best chances to win an award.

Well, Greinke lost out to Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright, Mark Ellis lost to Brandon Phillips while Adrian Gonzalez lost to Paul Goldschmidt of the Arizona Diamondbacks. The least surprising Gold Glove was given to Yadier Molina of the Cardinals, who beat out A.J. Ellis.

However, every Dodger fan wanted Uribe to take home the award, but Rockies rookie Nolan Arenado took it and all five Dodger nominees went home without an award.

Here’s the a complete list of the NL Gold Glove Award winners:

C-Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
1B-Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
2B-Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati Reds
3B-Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies
SS-Andrelton Simmons, Atlanta Braves
OF-Gerardo Parra, Arizona Diamondbacks
OF-Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee Brewers
OF-Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies
P-Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals


In case you missed it, here’s the Dodgers pool celebration, PLUS Yasiel Puig’s celebration dance off!


4 Responses

  1. Jonathan Ly

    Pffffft Wainwright is lucky its a regular season award; after that dropped ball in WS Gm 1……


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.