The Dodgers and Padres series is just as it was advertised this offseason. Both teams are very good, the pitching is elite, and the tension is as high as it has ever been. That showed up early with the benches clearing on Friday night’s game.
But on Saturday night, we got a little more action between the two teams. And surprisingly, Clayton Kershaw was right in the middle of it. With the Dodgers southpaw on the mound, the Padres’ Jurickson Profar took an emergency swing at a pitch he had no chance of hitting.
So rather than attempting to fight it off, he just hit the glove of Austin Barnes. Catcher’s interference was called and Profar was awarded first base as a result. The Dodgers ace spoke about it with media after the game, and he was not happy.
That’s a little scary. Barnes could have been seriously injured on that play. He basically swung straight down and backwards…that was not a big-league swing right there. I asked the umpire if I could hit the catcher’s glove every time, I got a much better chance of doing that than hitting the ball.
The rule does leave a little bit of grey area and doesn’t have a great definition. Especially when a guy clearly reaches his bat back to make contact with the catcher, who wasn’t reaching out for the ball at all. The Dodgers were very unhappy with the call, and rightfully so.
There are a lot of reasons to hate what Profar did, but the potential for injury is certainly at the top of the list. If the Dodgers catcher took a full backwards swing from Jurickson, there is a good chance that it would’ve caused serious damage.
You gotta wear this one Jurickson. Bush league.