Clayton Kershaw set the gold standard in 2013 yet managed to build on an impressive season to have a historic one in 2014. As a result, Kershaw became the youngest pitcher to win three NL Cy Youngs and the first NL pitcher to win MVP since Bob Gibson in 1968.

Kershaw led the Majors in wins, complete games, WHIP, ERA, ERA+, and other pitching statistics. Opposing batters held a .196 batting average and .289 slugging percentage against Kershaw, which the southpaw nearly matched with his .175 and .206 respective averages.

As was the case when Kershaw was named the NL Cy Young Award winner, his Los Angeles Dodgers teammates again used social media to congratulate the ace of their staff. Retired Dodgers and former manager Tommy Lasorda were also among those to commend Kershaw for his accomplishment.

Sandy Koufax, whom Kershaw is often compared to, had special words for his understudy in a statement released by the team:

Congratulations to Clayton. It’s a special honor to a special pitcher and a special person.”

The Dodgers also released a statement from Don Newcombe:

Congratulations to Clayton Kershaw on winning the 2014 NL MVP Award. There’s no one more deserving of this award and I couldn’t be prouder of this young man.”

Days after saying he doesn’t believe Kershaw and other pitchers should win an MVP Award, Lasorda had a different message on Thursday:

Dee Gordon, who received a 10th-place vote for MVP, congratulated both MVPs:

Brandon League again incorporated humor in his congratulatory message:

Free agent Hanley Ramirez who may soon become a former teammate of his:

Last but certainly not least, the NL MVP expressed his gratitude:

About The Author

Matt is a journalist from Whittier, California. A Cal State Long Beach graduate, Matthew occasionally contributes to Lakers Nation, and previously served as the lead editor and digital strategist at Dodgers Nation, and the co-editor and lead writer at Reign of Troy, where he covered USC Football. You can follow Matt on Twitter @mmoreno1015

2 Responses

  1. Richard Moore

    Congratulations Clayton……best of luck in 2015.

  2. Michael N. Norris

    Well deserved……congrats CK and many many more


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.